Blue Star Families Virtual Teen Book Club

Join Blue Star Families as they kick off their Virtual Teen Book Club on Thursday, February 10, 8-9pm EST.

Teens from all over the U.S. will come together to read and discuss the young adult book "Walls" by bestselling author L. M. Elliott.

About "Walls" - In the months of rising tensions before the surprise overnight raising of the Berlin Wall, teenaged cousins Drew, an American army brat in West Berlin, and Matthias, a young communist in East Berlin, become wary friends on opposite sides of the Cold War.

In this book club, participants will explore what it was like living in Germany as a military kid during the raising of the Berlin Wall. Plus, you'll have a chance to meet and talk with L. M. Elliott, the author, as well as adults who were military teens living in Germany during that time in history. Interested participants will also have the opportunity to share their own creative expression of their thoughts about the book and how the story impacted them.

*Each registered participant will receive a free, electronic version of the book from Blue Star Families.

The book club will meet virtually 4 times, and participants are asked to attend all 4 group meetings.

Meeting #1 - Thursday, February 10th, at 8 PM ET / 7 PM CT / 6 PM MT / 5 PM PT

Meeting #2 - Thursday, March 10th, at 8 PM ET / 7 PM CT / 6 PM MT / 5 PM PT

Meeting #3 - Thursday, March 24th, at 8 PM ET / 7 PM CT / 6 PM MT / 5 PM PT

Meeting #4 - April TBD

About the Author:

Laura Elliott (pen name L.M. Elliott) is a Virginia-based, award-winning and New York Times bestselling author of historical fiction who began her career as a journalist at the monthly magazine, The Washingtonian.

Laura has written over a dozen novels which frequently include a focus on military service members and how their service impacts their children and families. (Her book Under a War Torn Sky is part of the World War II curriculum of middle schools across the country.)

Her new YA novel, Walls, celebrates the resilience of military kids in Cold War Berlin.

Read more about Walls here.

REGISTER HERE.

WHEN
February 10, 2022 at 8:00pm - 9pm
WHERE
online
New York, NY
United States
Google map and directions
CONTACT
For more information · · 1-877-726-4727

connect